MAILING LIST private area

Language:[ UK ]
Offerte pacchetti vacanza
VISIT Treviso province  >>  Back <<

Treviso, medieval city

Join us on a tour of Treviso to explore the charm of its medieval heart, this city reworked and expanded upon over the centuries without distortion, touched by the fresh waters of its rivers and canals, joyfully decorated with frescoes and paint.

From Ponte S. Martino, near the railway station, across Corso del Popolo, we reach the city`s true centre, Piazza dei Signori, which boasts the Gothic crenellation of the Palazzo dei Trecento (Palace of the Three Hundred)

and the Civic Tower.

Following along Calmaggiore, we reach the cathedral, featuring an overlap of styles built atop a Roman foundation, with its white neoclassical facade. We then reach the grand cathedral of S. Nicol˛, dating back to the 13th century, and next to it, we can admire the ``Sala del Capitolo dei Domenicani del Seminario Vescovile``, a fresco by Tommaso Da Modena.

Wandering along the shaded streets of this ``garden city``, we are now in Borgo Cavour, where a visit to the Civic Museum proceeds a walk down via Canova with its beautiful medieval homes, taking us back to Piazza Duomo.

Slipping in to the streets that run parallel to Calmaggiore, we reach Piazza S. Vito, passing the characteristic ``Fontana delle Tette*`` (literally: ``fountain of the breasts``), one of the city`s icons; behind it is the characteristic Canale dei Buranelli, with a small porticoed road alley running along it.

Not far from here, stands the other impressive Romanesque/Gothic church, S. Francesco. The colours of the earth and water meet at the fishmongers` islet, on which CÓ dei Carraresi, a renowned exhibition space, stands. Taking via S. Agostino, we arrive at the former S. Caterina convent, now a museum housing the stories of Saint Orsola, as frescoed by Tommaso Da Modena: from here, across P.zza S. Maria Maggiore with the church of the same name, we reach the point where the Sile River meets the Cagnan, on the Dante Bridge,

and we follow the river, passing the former hospital, now a university, before entering Piazza S. Leonardo, with the Loggia dei Cavalieri on the left. Facing us, across via Santa Margherita and the bridge of the same name, we following the riviera along the bank of the Sile River to the San Martino Bridge, returning to where we started.

*FONTANA DELLE TETTE - curiosities
This bridge was at the beginning of Calmaggiore and was described by Matteo Sernagiotto (1810 - 1888): `` ... a pretty woman in marble stands on a seashell, milking her full breasts with both hands, as two lively spurts of crystalline water, taken from the nearby Cagnano through an industrious contrivance of gears, offering their abundance to the surrounding homes and shops. After the extraordinary drought, Alvise Da Ponte Pretore built the fountain in 1559 and from then until the fall of the Veneto Republic, each year, for three consecutive days, to celebrate the arrival of the new Podesta, white wine gushed forth from one breast in the fountain, while red wine flowed from the other, to the great amusement of the thrilled townsfolk``. - Rebuilt in 1989.

1 Itinerari-bici-Bike itineraries- Radtouren-Sile.pdf
2 itinerari-Routes-Touren-houseboat-Sile-Casale sul Sile.pdf
3 Itinerari-Routes-Touren-houseboat-Sile-Treviso.pdf
4 Treviso-cittÓ-medievale.pdf


Cerca per distanza:
Distanza km: